Your Bag

Nothing in cart

  • Prospex PADI 200M Sumo Saphir 3. Gen Ref.-Nr. SBDC179
  • Prospex PADI 200M Sumo Saphir 3. Gen Ref.-Nr. SBDC179
  • Prospex PADI 200M Sumo Saphir 3. Gen Ref.-Nr. SBDC179
  • Prospex PADI 200M Sumo Saphir 3. Gen Ref.-Nr. SBDC179
  • Prospex PADI 200M Sumo Saphir 3. Gen Ref.-Nr. SBDC179
  • Prospex PADI 200M Sumo Saphir 3. Gen Ref.-Nr. SBDC179
  • Prospex PADI 200M Sumo Saphir 3. Gen Ref.-Nr. SBDC179
  • Prospex PADI 200M Sumo Saphir 3. Gen Ref.-Nr. SBDC179
  • Prospex PADI 200M Sumo Saphir 3. Gen Ref.-Nr. SBDC179
  • Prospex PADI 200M Sumo Saphir 3. Gen Ref.-Nr. SBDC179
  • Prospex PADI 200M Sumo Saphir 3. Gen Ref.-Nr. SBDC179
  • Prospex PADI 200M Sumo Saphir 3. Gen Ref.-Nr. SBDC179
  • Prospex PADI 200M Sumo Saphir 3. Gen Ref.-Nr. SBDC179
  • Prospex PADI 200M Sumo Saphir 3. Gen Ref.-Nr. SBDC179
  • Prospex PADI 200M Sumo Saphir 3. Gen Ref.-Nr. SBDC179
  • Prospex PADI 200M Sumo Saphir 3. Gen Ref.-Nr. SBDC179
  • Prospex PADI 200M Sumo Saphir 3. Gen Ref.-Nr. SBDC179
  • Prospex PADI 200M Sumo Saphir 3. Gen Ref.-Nr. SBDC179
  • Prospex PADI 200M Sumo Saphir 3. Gen Ref.-Nr. SBDC179
  • Prospex PADI 200M Sumo Saphir 3. Gen Ref.-Nr. SBDC179
  • Prospex PADI 200M Sumo Saphir 3. Gen Ref.-Nr. SBDC179
  • Prospex PADI 200M Sumo Saphir 3. Gen Ref.-Nr. SBDC179
  • Prospex PADI 200M Sumo Saphir 3. Gen Ref.-Nr. SBDC179
  • Prospex PADI 200M Sumo Saphir 3. Gen Ref.-Nr. SBDC179
  • Prospex PADI 200M Sumo Saphir 3. Gen Ref.-Nr. SBDC179
  • Prospex PADI 200M Sumo Saphir 3. Gen Ref.-Nr. SBDC179
  • Prospex PADI 200M Sumo Saphir 3. Gen Ref.-Nr. SBDC179
Seiko

Prospex PADI 200M Sumo Saphir 3. Gen Ref.-Nr. SBDC179

(2 Bewertungen)
In Stock
Titel

Add to Wishlist
Icon Send Product Enquiry Send Product Enquiry
May we assist you?

Please use the form below to send your enquiry about Prospex PADI 200M Sumo Saphir 3. Gen Ref.-Nr. SBDC179.

Prospex PADI 200M Sumo Saphir 3. Gen Ref.-Nr. SBDC179

(2 Bewertungen)

Der Spitzname „Sumo“ war ursprünglich nicht der offizielle Name dieser Uhrenserie von Prospex . Doch irgendwie blieb der Name hängen und wird nun von Seiko selbst anerkannt. Die Ursprünge des Namens könnten durch mehrere Theorien erklärt werden. Die erste Theorie ist die des robusten, übergroßen Erscheinungsbilds der Uhr zusammen mit einem dünnen 20-mm-Armband. Die zweite Erklärung liegt darin, dass die 12-Uhr-Markierung wie ein Mawashi aussieht, die Unterwäsche, die japanische Sumo-Ringer während eines Kampfes tragen. Die dritte Erklärung liegt darin, dass die Form der Lünette dem Dohyo oder Ring ähnelt, auf dem Sumo stattfindet. 

Seiko Prospex PADI 200M Sumo Saphir 3. Generation Ref. SBDC179 / SPB325

Als nächstes verdient die Verbindung zwischen Seiko und PADI (die Abkürzung steht für Professional Association of Diving Instructors), der weltweit vertrauenswürdigsten Ausbildungsorganisation für Sporttauchen, Aufmerksamkeit. PADI wurde 1966 gegründet und hat seinen Sitz in den USA. Es bietet eine Reihe von Kursen an, die von Anfängerkursen bis hin zu relativ fortgeschrittenen Zertifizierungskursen für Sporttaucher reichen. Dieser Verband soll über 27 Millionen Tauchzertifizierungen in über 6.300 Tauchzentren weltweit verliehen haben. 2016 markierte den Beginn der Partnerschaft zwischen PADI und Seiko mit der ersten Sonderedition, der stets zuverlässigen PADI Turtle SRPA21J1 . Seitdem sind weitere Editionen mit neuartigen Designs und aktualisierten Materialien aufgetaucht. Heute stellen wir die Seiko Prospex PADI 200m Sumo Sapphire 3rd Gen Ref. SBDC179 vor. 

Neues Seiko-Kaliber 6R35 mit 70 Stunden Gangreserve

Diese Ausgabe des Seiko Sumo Prospex Diver erinnert stark an das ursprüngliche Konzept von 2007. Das wuchtige Gehäuse mit einer schmalen Ösenbreite von 20 mm hat einen Durchmesser von 45 mm und eine Höhe von 12,9 mm. Darüber hinaus beträgt der Abstand von Öse zu Öse 52,6 mm. Die gedrehten Ösen, das geschwungene Profil und die Abfolge großer polierter Oberflächen mit dünnen gebürsteten Linien dazwischen tragen zum Reiz dieser Uhr bei. Darüber hinaus behalten die Krone bei 4 Uhr, eine robuste Lünette, die ein eher kleines Zifferblatt umreißt, riesige Ösen und eine runde Form das Design dieser neuesten Sumo fast wie bei ihren Vorgängern bei. 

Ikonisches Sumo-Gehäusedesign

Der Unterschied zwischen dieser Taucheruhr und früheren Sumo-Uhren liegt jedoch in der Qualität der verwendeten Materialien. 2018 wurde ein Saphirglas mit einer inneren Antireflexbeschichtung für hervorragende Lesbarkeit eingeführt. 2022 begrüßt nun die neue Sumo mit einer glänzenden kratzfesten Keramiklünette, einem klassischen schwarzen Zifferblatt und einer eleganter aussehenden Skala. Das Gehäuse und das Armband der Sumo-Edition 2022 bestehen weiterhin aus Edelstahl, sind jetzt jedoch mit einer Schicht von Seikos Super-Hard Coating noch kratzfester und langlebiger als zuvor. Darüber hinaus wird diese Uhr auch von Seikos neuestem Automatikkaliber 6R35 angetrieben, einer bemerkenswerten Verbesserung gegenüber dem Arbeitspferd 6R15. Obwohl die Uhr immer noch mit 21.600 BPH (3 Hertz) mit Hacking- und Handaufzugsfunktionen läuft, hat sie mehr Steine ​​(24 Steine) und eine überlegene Gangreserve von 70 Stunden. Für noch bessere Sichtbarkeit im Dunkeln sind die makellosen Stundenmarkierungen und Zeiger luxuriös mit Seikos LumiBrite beschichtet. 

Seikos LumiBrite

Alles in allem ist die Sumo seit mehr als einem Jahrzehnt immer noch eine wertvolle Seiko-Taucheruhr, die in keiner Sammlung fehlen darf. Mit einem leistungsstarken Uhrwerk und einer überlegenen Gangreserve ist diese Uhr ein Beweis für hervorragende Gehäuseverarbeitung, beeindruckende Haltbarkeit und Lesbarkeit.

Style It With

Your Cart

Nothing in cart

  • Prospex PADI 200M Sumo Sapphire 3rd Gen Ref. SBDC179
  • Prospex PADI 200M Sumo Sapphire 3rd Gen Ref. SBDC179
  • Prospex PADI 200M Sumo Sapphire 3rd Gen Ref. SBDC179
  • Prospex PADI 200M Sumo Sapphire 3rd Gen Ref. SBDC179
  • Prospex PADI 200M Sumo Sapphire 3rd Gen Ref. SBDC179
  • Prospex PADI 200M Sumo Sapphire 3rd Gen Ref. SBDC179
  • Prospex PADI 200M Sumo Sapphire 3rd Gen Ref. SBDC179
  • Prospex PADI 200M Sumo Sapphire 3rd Gen Ref. SBDC179
  • Prospex PADI 200M Sumo Sapphire 3rd Gen Ref. SBDC179
  • Prospex PADI 200M Sumo Sapphire 3rd Gen Ref. SBDC179
  • Prospex PADI 200M Sumo Sapphire 3rd Gen Ref. SBDC179
  • Prospex PADI 200M Sumo Sapphire 3rd Gen Ref. SBDC179
  • Prospex PADI 200M Sumo Sapphire 3rd Gen Ref. SBDC179
  • Prospex PADI 200M Sumo Sapphire 3rd Gen Ref. SBDC179
  • Prospex PADI 200M Sumo Sapphire 3rd Gen Ref. SBDC179
  • Prospex PADI 200M Sumo Sapphire 3rd Gen Ref. SBDC179
  • Prospex PADI 200M Sumo Sapphire 3rd Gen Ref. SBDC179
  • Prospex PADI 200M Sumo Sapphire 3rd Gen Ref. SBDC179
  • Prospex PADI 200M Sumo Sapphire 3rd Gen Ref. SBDC179
  • Prospex PADI 200M Sumo Sapphire 3rd Gen Ref. SBDC179
  • Prospex PADI 200M Sumo Sapphire 3rd Gen Ref. SBDC179
  • Prospex PADI 200M Sumo Sapphire 3rd Gen Ref. SBDC179
  • Prospex PADI 200M Sumo Sapphire 3rd Gen Ref. SBDC179
  • Prospex PADI 200M Sumo Sapphire 3rd Gen Ref. SBDC179
  • Prospex PADI 200M Sumo Sapphire 3rd Gen Ref. SBDC179
  • Prospex PADI 200M Sumo Sapphire 3rd Gen Ref. SBDC179
  • Prospex PADI 200M Sumo Sapphire 3rd Gen Ref. SBDC179
Seiko

Prospex PADI 200M Sumo Sapphire 3rd Gen Ref. SBDC179

2 Reviews
In Stock
Title
Send product enquiry
May we assist you?

Please use the form below to send your enquiry about Prospex PADI 200M Sumo Sapphire 3rd Gen Ref. SBDC179.

Prospex PADI 200M Sumo Sapphire 3rd Gen Ref. SBDC179

2 Reviews

The nickname Sumo was initially not the official name of this Prospex series of watches. Yet somehow the name stuck and is now acknowledged by Seiko itself. The name’s origins could be explained by some theories. The first theory is that of the robust, oversized countenance of the watch together with a thin 20mm bracelet. The second explanation lies in how the 12 o’clock marker looks like a Mawashi, the underwear donned by Japanese sumo wrestlers during a match. The third explanation lies in how the bezel’s shape is akin to the Dohyo or ring where Sumo takes place. 

Seiko Prospex PADI 200M Sumo Sapphire 3rd Gen Ref. SBDC179 / SPB325

Next, the connection between Seiko and PADI (which stands for Professional Association of Diving Instructors), the world’s most trusted scuba diving training organization, also merits attention. Established in 1966 and based in the US, PADI offers an array of courses ranging from entry-level to relatively advanced recreational diver certification courses. This association is reported to have awarded over 27 million scuba certifications, in over 6,300 diving centers globally. 2016 marked the beginning of the partnership between PADI and Seiko via the first special edition, the ever reliable PADI Turtle SRPA21J1. Other editions with novel designs and updated materials have since surfaced. Today we introduce the Seiko Prospex PADI 200m Sumo Sapphire 3rd Gen Ref. SBDC179. 

New Seiko Calibre 6R35 With 70 Hours Power Reserve

This edition of the Seiko Sumo Prospex Diver alludes very much to the original concept of 2007. The bulky case with a small lug width of 20mm measures a 45mm diameter and boasts a height of 12.9mm. Furthermore, it has a lug-to-lug measurement of 52.6mm. The twisted lugs, the curved profile and the succession of large polished surfaces with thin brushed lines in-between adds to the appeal of this watch. Moreover, the 4 o’clock crown, a sturdy bezel that outlines a rather small dial, huge lugs and a circular shape retain the design of this latest Sumo almost like its predecessors.  

Iconic Sumo Case Design

The difference between this dive watch and earlier Sumo watches, however, is in the quality of the materials used. 2018 saw the introduction of a sapphire crystal with an inner anti-reflective coating for excellent readability. 2022 now welcomes the new Sumo with a glossy scratch-resistant ceramic bezel, a classic black dial and a more elegant-looking scale. The case and bracelet in the 2022 Sumo edition are still made of stainless steel but are now rendered even more scratch resistant and durable than before with a layer of Seiko’s Super-Hard Coating. Besides, this timepiece is also run by Seiko’s latest automatic caliber, 6R35, a notable upgrade from the workhorse 6R15. Although the watch still operates at 21,600 BPH (3 Hertz) with hacking and hand winding capabilities, it has increased jewels (24 jewels) and a superior power reserve of 70 hours. For even better visibility in the dark, the impeccable hour markers and hands are luxuriously coated with Seiko’s LumiBrite. 

Seiko's LumiBrite

All in all, for more than a decade, the Sumo is still a valuable Seiko dive watch to have in one’s collection. With a powerful movement and a superior power reserve, this watch is a testament of excellent casework, formidable durability and legibility.

Specifications

icon-maker

Maker

Seiko Japan
icon-movement

Movement

Caliber 6R35. Seiko 24-Jewel Automatic.
icon-accuracy_range

Accuracy range

+25/-15 sec per day
icon-dial

Dial

Black
icon-luminous

Luminous

LumiBrite
icon-case

Case

Stainless steel (super hard coating)
icon-crown_type

Crown type

Screw-down crown
icon-lug_width

Lug width

20mm
icon-crystal

Crystal material

Sapphire crystal with anti-reflective coating on inner surface
icon-strap

Strap

Seiko blue rubber strap
icon-water_resistance

Water resistance

200m
icon-dimensions

Dimensions

45mm in diameter, 52.6mm lug to lug, 13.4mm thick